InsightsHow we workTeamJoin German
Data Readiness Check
back to overview

Real-World Evidence as a Trailblazer of Data Medicine

Dr. Thilo Löwe, 10. April 2020

Real-world evidence is about to become the buzzword of the healthcare industry. Be it a cost- and timesaving supplement for randomized controlled trials in pharmaceutical research, a basis for AI-based diagnostics, personalized medicine, or the certification or proof of efficiency for digital health applications, the magnitude of real-world evidence as the cornerstone of data medicine—not least of all in economic terms—has since become beyond dispute. This is not surprising, for over the past few months, a number of startups, mostly American ones, have succeeded in obtaining sizable funds to develop real-world evidence platforms. In Germany and Europe, by contrast, this development is still at its inception. We at nxt statista are working with our clients on changing this soon.

In the United States, generous amounts of financing have been amassed by a category of startups that have largely flown beneath the radar in this part of the world: so-called real-world evidence platforms that aggregate medical treatment data from various sources, thereby supporting medical research projects. Among these are:

Illustration 1: Recently-established medical startups with a connection to real-world evidence

An additional example is the oncological real-world evidence platform Flatiron Health, which was acquired by Roche for USD1.9 billion in 2018.

What is the reason for these high valuations? The aforementioned platforms follow different business models—from pure data collection and aggregation, to solutions for data swapping, to software tools for customized patient therapy in cancer centers. Their common ground is the aspiration to reduce costs in developing medications and to increase the accuracy of fit in therapies by using real-world data. In the long term, the use of machine learning and AI will also play an important role. The following sketch illustrates this approach for the pharmaceutical industry:

Illustration 2: Influence of real-world data on the development of new medications

As early as 2016, IQVIA calculated savings of 15% in pharmaceutical research using real-world evidence would add up to a worldwide total of more than US$27 billion.

Sources of „Real World Evidence“

In comparison to the U.S.A., the availability of real-world evidence in Germany remains quite restricted. In Germany, for example, the electronic patient file (which has been mandatory in the USA with the HiTECH Act since 2009) will not be introduced until next year. For this reason, the „Zentralinstitut für die Kassenärztlichen Vereinigungen“ (ZI) only provides billing data of public health insurance companies to physicians and scientific research institutions (with a considerable time delay).

With the introduction of electronic patient files and digital health applications as well as the comprehensive rollout of the teleinformatic infrastructure, this situation will change in Germany in the years ahead. It is already possible to construct physician panels by way of plug-ins into medical practice management software and obtain data about specific patient groups using digital health applications. But even here, we have to contend with a time requirement of one to two years until a representative amount of data has been achieved.

You can find an overview of the most important potential data sources for real-world evidence here:

Illustration 3: Potential data sources for real-world evidence

Beginnings of Real-World Evidence Platforms in Germany

In Germany, the setup of real-world evidence platforms primarily belongs to the world of university research. In addition to the national longitudinal study (NAKO Gesundheitsstudie), the data integration centers of the Medical Informatics Initiative of the Federal Ministry for Education and Research, or BMBF as well as the „Hamburg City Health Study(HCHS) are especially worth mentioning here. Here, the focus resides primarily in the preservation of data in a clinical and/or in-patient context The chief private provider of real-world evidence data is currently the American company IQVIA, which runs a panel with several thousand physicians in clinical as well as in-patient sectors. Yet at the moment, this situation is changing, and since 2019, increasing numbers of initiatives are coming into existence, in Germany as well, to set up real-world evidence platforms. Among them are:

  • Data4Life: A charitable initiaitve of the Hasso Plattner Institute. At the moment, the focus is on the development of a European solution for distributing and collecting health data within the framework of the "Smart4Life" consortium.
  • Urogista / Uroscience: Initiative of the "Deutsches Institut für fachärztliche Versorgungsforschung" (DIFA) and the "Berufsverband der Deutschen Urologen e.V." (Professional Association of German Urologists) to automate notifications for the cancer registry via "plug-ins" into the medical practice management system, store them in a central database, and with that said, facilitate the participation of urologists in studies and health care research projects.
  • Docmetric: Initiative of CompuGroup Medical AG to use the CGM medical practice management systems to obtain real-time statistical information on diagnoses and treatments.

We at nxt statista advise and support various clients in setting up health-related databanks and real-world evidence for health services research. At the same time, we apply our wide-ranging Statista know-how to automize the integration and quality assurance of various data sources, our data science and machine-learning expertise to prepare data and to obtain data-driven insights, as well as the nxt statista team's 15 years of experience in setting up digital business models for guaranteeing long-term monetization.

Contact us if you also wish to tap into the revenue and efficiency potentialities of real-world evidence for your business.

Feedback, questions or recommendations regarding this article?
Please contact the author at thilo.loewe@nxt.statista.com

Logo© 2019 - 2020 LSP Digital GmbH & Co. KG
ImprintPrivacy

InsightsHow we workTeamJoin English
Data Readiness Check
zurück zur Übersicht

„Real World Evidence“ als Wegbereiter der Datenmedizin

Dr. Thilo Löwe, 10. April 2020

„Real World Evidence“ ist dabei, zum Buzzword der Gesundheitsbranche zu werden. Ob als kosten- und zeitsparende Ergänzung zu „Randomized Controlled Trials“ in der Pharmaforschung, als Basis für KI-basierte Diagnostik, personalisierte Medizin oder die Zertifizierung beziehungsweise den Wirksamkeitsnachweis von Digitalen Gesundheitsanwendungen: die nicht zuletzt auch wirtschaftliche Bedeutung von „Real World Evidence“ als Fundament der Datenmedizin steht inzwischen außer Frage. Da überrascht es nicht, dass es in den letzten Monaten vielen zumeist amerikanischen Startups gelungen ist, erhebliche Finanzierungsmittel für die Entwicklung von „Real World Evidence“-Plattformen zu erhalten. In Deutschland und Europa steht diese Entwicklung dagegen noch am Anfang. Wir bei nxt statista arbeiten mit unseren Kunden daran, dass sich dies bald ändert.     

In den Vereinigten Staaten hat in den letzten Monaten eine Kategorie von Startups hohe Funding-Summen eingesammelt, die hierzulande noch kaum auf dem Radar ist: sogenannte „Real World Evidence“-Plattformen, die medizinische Behandlungsdaten aus verschiedenen Quellen aggregieren und damit medizinische Forschungsprojekte unterstützen. Dazu gehören unter anderem:

Abbildung 1: Jüngst gefundete Medizin-Startups mit „Real World Evidence“-Bezug

Ein weiteres Beispiel ist die onkologische „Real World Evidence“-Plattform Flatiron Health, die in 2018 von Roche zu einer Bewertung von USD 1,9 Mrd. übernommen wurde.

Woher kommen diese hohen Bewertungen? Die genannten Plattformen verfolgen unterschiedliche Geschäftsmodelle – vom reinen Datensammeln und -aggregieren über Lösungen für den Datenaustausch bis hin zu Software-Tools für die personalisierte Patientenbehandlung in Krebskliniken. Gemeinsam ist ihnen der Anspruch, durch „Real World Daten“ die Kosten in der Entwicklung von Medikamenten zu senken und die Passgenauigkeit von Therapien zu erhöhen. Perspektivisch geht es auch um den Einsatz von „Machine Learning“ und KI. Die nachfolgende Darstellung illustriert diesen Ansatz für die Pharmaforschung:

Abbildung 2: Einfluss von „Real World Data“ auf die Entwicklung neuer Medikamente

Die von IQVIA bereits in 2016 berechneten Einsparungen in Höhe von 15 % in der Pharmaforschung durch „Real World Evidence“ würden sich weltweit zu einem Betrag von über USD 27 Mrd. summieren.

Quellen von „Real World Evidence“

Im Vergleich zu den USA ist die Verfügbarkeit von „Real World Evidence“ in Deutschland noch sehr eingeschränkt. So wird die elektronische Patientenakte in Deutschland erst im nächsten Jahr verbindlich eingeführt (in den USA mit dem HiTECH Act seit 2009), dazu stellt das „Zentralinstitut für die Kassenärztlichen Vereinigungen“ (ZI) die Abrechnungsdaten der gesetzlichen Krankenversicherungen nur Ärzten und wissenschaftlichen Forschungseinrichtungen zur Verfügung (und dies mit erheblichem Zeitverzug).

Mit der Einführung der elektronischen Patientenakte und Digitaler Gesundheitsanwendungen sowie dem flächendeckenden Roll-out der Telematik-Infrastruktur wird sich diese Situation in Deutschland in den nächsten Jahren ändern. Bereits jetzt besteht die Möglichkeit, über Plug-Ins in den Arztinformationssystemen Ärztepanels aufzubauen und über Digitale Gesundheitsanwendungen Daten zu speziellen Patientengruppen zu gewinnen. Aber selbst hier muss man mit einem Zeitbedarf von ein bis zwei Jahren rechnen, bis eine repräsentative Datenmenge erreicht ist.

Eine Übersicht über die wichtigsten potenziellen Datenquellen für „Real World Evidence“ in Deutschland finden Sie hier:

Abbildung 3: Potenzielle Datenquellen für „Real World Evidence“

Ansätze für „Real World Evidence“-Plattformen in Deutschland

In Deutschland ist der Aufbau von „Real World Evidence“-Plattformen heute noch vor allem eine Sache der universitären Forschung. Neben der „Nationalen Kohorte“ sind hier insbesondere die Datenintegrationszentren der Medizininformatik-Initiative des BMBF sowie die „Hamburg City Health Study(HCHS) zu nennen. Hierbei liegt der Fokus primär auf der Datenerhebung im klinischen bzw. stationären Kontext. Der bedeutendste private Anbieter von „Real World Evidence“-Daten ist aktuell noch die amerikanische Firma IQVIA, die ein Panel mit mehreren tausend Ärzten sowohl im klinischen als auch im ambulanten Sektor betreibt. Aktuell ändert sich diese Situation jedoch, und seit 2019 entstehen immer mehr Initiativen zum Aufbau von „Real World Evidence“-Plattformen auch in Deutschland. Dazu gehören:

  • Data4Life: Eine gemeinnützige Initiative des Hasso Plattner-Instituts. Schwerpunkt liegt derzeit auf der Entwicklung einer europäischen Lösung für das Teilen und Sammeln von Gesundheitsdaten im Rahmen des „Smart4Life“-Konsortiums
  • Urogista / Uroscience: Initiative des „Deutschen Instituts für fachärztliche Versorgungsforschung“ (DIFA) und des „Berufsverband der Deutschen Urologen e. V.“, um Meldungen für das Krebsregister durch „Plug-Ins“ in das Arztinformationssystem zu automatisieren, in einer zentralen Datenbank zu speichern und damit auf vereinfachtem Wege Urologen die Teilnahme an Studien und Versorgungsforschungsprojekten zu ermöglichen
  • Docmetric: Initiative der CompuGroup Medical AG, über die CGM Arztinformationssysteme Ärztepanel zur Gewinnung statistischer Informationen zu Diagnosen und Behandlungen in Echtzeit zu erhalten.

Wir bei nxt statista begleiten derzeit verschiedene Kunden beim Aufbau von gesundheitsbezogenen Datenbanken und von „Real World Evidence“ für die Versorgungsforschung. Wir nutzen dabei unser umfangreiches Statista-Knowhow zur automatisierten Integration und Qualitätssicherung verschiedener Datenquellen,  unsere Data Science- und Machine Learning-Kompetenz zur Datenaufbereitung und zur Gewinnung von datengetrieben Einsichten sowie die 15-jährige Erfahrung des nxt statista-Teams  mit dem Aufbau digitaler Geschäftsmodelle für die Gewährleistung einer nachhaltigen Monetarisierung.

Kontaktieren Sie uns, wenn auch Sie die Umsatz- und Effizienzpotenziale von „Real World Evidence“ für Ihr Unternehmen erschließen möchten.

Feedback, Fragen oder Anregungen zu diesem Artikel?
Kontaktieren Sie den Autor unter thilo.loewe@nxt.statista.com

Nächster Artikel

Podcast-Launch: DataDriven.fm

DataDriven ist der neue Podcast für die Macher und Gestalter der data driven economy.
In der ersten Folge: Wie bestellen sich Rasenmäher-Roboter und Kaffeemaschinen ihren eigenen Nachschub?

Florian Hollender, 2020-04-23
Logo© 2019 - 2020 LSP Digital GmbH & Co. KG
ImpressumDatenschutz