InsightsHow we workTeamJoin German
Data Readiness Check
back to overview

Fighting COVID-19 with data

Thilo Löwe, 08. Oktober 2020

The importance of medical data for combating diseases has never been more evident than during the corona pandemic. It is not only about recording the outbreak in as much detail as possible and on a real-time basis; the disease needed to be understood in the first place by exchanging observations and findings, and best-practice benchmarks had to be developed pertaining to specific patient groups and symptoms. This process is far from being completed, especially with regard to long-term health implications.

Using data to develop effective vaccines

Another task that will also need to be tackled, probably in 2021, is observing the efficacy and safety of COVID-19 vaccines on a long-term basis and in all segments of the population. Since the approval process is being carried out under immense time pressure, it is unlikely that trial data from all subpopulations, let alone long-term data, will be available before a vaccine's approval. Moreover, because of the overall low incidence of the virus, the Phase III trials conducted by then will only allow limited conclusions as to the efficacy of the vaccine. It will also be interesting to see whether and to what degree institutions such as the EU will accept trial results from other regions for their approval process. A conditional marketing authorization for COVID-19 vaccines is to be expected, with vaccine producers being required to conduct post-authorization efficacy studies to confirm the vaccine's efficacy.

Due to low incidence rates, it will be necessary to observe a wide sample of the population in this post-approval phase, and when safety is at stake, the data will ideally need to be available in real time. As such a wide sample will also need to be observed over a long period of time, the costs must be kept within reasonable bounds. Nevertheless, the corona crisis has already made it abundantly clear that we should not limit ourselves to a simple system with doctors reporting COVID-19 cases. The relevant data should be transmitted automatically, in real time, and, of course, anonymously.

Is Europe lagging behind?

It is well known that, for many years, there have been major reservations in Europe about the collection and use of medical data. Whether justified or not, these concerns have significantly delayed the digitalization of our healthcare system. Consequently, electronic patient records, which also allow patients to "donate" their data, are being implemented far too late for fighting COVID-19 in Europe, and billing data from health insurance providers can still only be used with a considerable time delay (and only by a very small group of people – those performing public research). It will therefore be extremely challenging to set up a system for tracking the efficacy of COVID-19 vaccines on a wide scale within 2021. In order to still create such a system in a short time, the European Medicines Agency (EMA) will, in all likelihood, need to closely cooperate with privately owned companies such as medical software providers as well as data and analysis platforms.

Insights gained from the United States

A look at the U.S. shows how such a system can be set up. Due to different data protection requirements, conditions there are of course not fully comparable to those in the EU. However, it is also possible to collect anonymized patient data without patient "opt-ins" in Europe to produce statistics for the public good (Article 9, paragraph 2, lit. j GDPR). Although it is not possible to aggregate patient data to form patient histories across healthcare providers (this will always require the patient's consent), cross-sectional studies and generalized cohort studies can be carried out. If the legislature decides that in the future, anonymizing patient data without the patient's explicit consent will no longer be limited to certain exceptional circumstances, as is being discussed at the moment, this would open up more options.

The Americans are also able to act quickly when it comes to setting up a "COVID-19 real-word evidence platform" because the Federal Drug Agency (FDA) is closely cooperating with privately owned companies, including young, VC-funded start-ups such as Aetion and Health Verity. Furthermore, private nonprofit foundations such as the Reagan-Udall Foundation are organizing forums where universities, healthcare providers, and pharmaceutical companies discuss what crucial questions need to be answered and what data is required for this purpose.

Unlike Europe, where a strict distinction is made between private companies and public research when it comes to data access, the U.S. is thus taking a collaborative approach. This includes involving start-ups and private foundations besides pharmaceutical companies and even entrusting private companies with many coordination tasks. Coordination- and format-related issues are addressed dynamically while this system is already being set up, which further accelerates the process.

Outlook

Together with the covidX initiative, which is supported by the EU, and in close cooperation with CompuGroup Medical SE, we are currently developing a concept of how a comparable system could be organized within the "European Health Data Space" and be made available by 2021. For more information on this initiative, see: www.covidx.eu/healthmirror.

Logo© 2019 - 2020 LSP Digital GmbH & Co. KG
ImprintPrivacy

InsightsHow we workTeamJoin English
Data Readiness Check
zurück zur Übersicht

Mit Daten COVID-19 bekämpfen

Thilo Löwe, 08. Oktober 2020

Die Bedeutung medizinischer Daten für die Bekämpfung von Krankheiten wurde noch nie so offensichtlich wie in der Corona-Pandemie. Nicht nur geht es darum, das Ausbruchsgeschehen möglichst granular und in Echtzeit zu erfassen, die Krankheit musste durch den Austausch von Beobachtungen und Erkenntnissen überhaupt erst verstanden und patientengruppen- sowie symptomspezifische Best-Practice-Benchmarks mussten entwickelt werden. Insbesondere im Hinblick auf die gesundheitlichen Langzeitfolgen ist dieser Prozess noch lange nicht abgeschlossen.

Daten für wirksame Impfstoffe

Voraussichtlich im Jahr 2021 wird auch noch eine weitere Aufgabe hinzukommen: die Wirksamkeit und Sicherheit von COVID-19-Impfstoffen langfristig und in allen Bevölkerungssegmenten zu beobachten. Aufgrund des hohen Zeitdrucks im Zulassungsprozess werden vor der Zulassung kaum Studiendaten aus allen Subpopulationen und schon gar nicht über einen längeren Zeitraum zur Verfügung stehen. Dazu werden die bis dahin durchgeführten Phase-III-Studien wegen der geringen Verbreitung des Virus nur eingeschränkte Aussagen zur Wirksamkeit des Impfstoffes liefern können. Spannend wird außerdem sein, ob und in welchem Grad Institutionen wie die EU Studienergebnisse aus anderen Regionen für den Zulassungsprozess akzeptieren. Zu erwarten ist eine bedingte Zulassung von COVID-19-Impfstoffen („conditional marketing authorization“) mit der Auflage an den Hersteller, die Wirksamkeit nach der Zulassung in Beobachtungsstudien (sogenannten „post-authorization efficacy studies“) weiter zu erhärten.

Wegen der niedrigen Inzidenzraten wird es in dieser Phase nach der Zulassung des Impfstoffes notwendig sein, eine sehr breite Bevölkerungsstichprobe zu beobachten, und wo es um Sicherheit geht, werden die Daten möglichst in Echtzeit zur Verfügung stehen müssen. Da es darüber hinaus um eine breite Stichprobe geht, die über einen langen Zeitraum beobachtet werden muss, müssen sich auch die Kosten im Rahmen halten. Dennoch – auch das hat die Corona-Krise schon deutlich gemacht – sollte man sich hier nicht mit einem einfachen Meldewesen durch die Ärzte begnügen. Die relevanten Daten sollten vielmehr automatisch, in Echtzeit und natürlich anonymisiert übermittelt werden.

Europa im Verzug?

Bekanntermaßen gibt es bezüglich der Sammlung und Verwendung medizinscher Daten in Europa seit vielen Jahren große Vorbehalte. Die Digitalisierung unseres Gesundheitswesens hat sich dadurch  – zu Recht oder zu Unrecht – erheblich verzögert. So kommt die elektronische Patientenakte mit der Möglichkeit für den Patienten, seine Daten zu „spenden“, für die COVID-19-Bekämpfung in Europa eindeutig zu spät, und Abrechnungsdaten der Kassen sind immer noch nur mit erheblichem Zeitverzug (und nur für den engen Adressatenkreis der öffentlichen Forschung) verwendbar. Innerhalb des Jahres 2021 ein System für die breitflächige Verfolgung der Wirksamkeit von COVID-19-Impfungen zu errichten, wird daher äußerst anspruchsvoll sein. Um in kurzer Zeit ein solches System dennoch aufzubauen, wird aller Voraussicht nach die enge Zusammenarbeit der European Medicines Agency (EMA) mit privatwirtschaftlich geführten Unternehmen wie Anbietern von Arztsoftware, aber auch Daten- und Analyseplattformen benötigt.

Erkenntnisse aus Amerika

Wie ein solches System aufgebaut werden kann, zeigt der Blick in die USA. Wegen anderer Datenschutzanforderungen sind die Voraussetzungen dort natürlich nur eingeschränkt vergleichbar. Aber auch in Europa ist es möglich, anonymisierte Patientendaten ohne Patienten-Opt-in zur Erstellung von Statistiken zum öffentlichen Wohl zu sammeln (Art. 9, Abs. 2, lit. j DSGVO). Es fehlt dann zwar noch die Möglichkeit, die Patientendaten Leistungserbringer-übergreifend in Patientenhistorien zu aggregieren (hierfür wird immer die Patientenzustimmung benötigt), aber Querschnittsstudien und generalisierte Kohortenstudien sind auf diese Weise möglich. Wenn der Gesetzgeber, wie aktuell diskutiert wird, zukünftig die Anonymisierung von Patientendaten nicht mehr nur in bestimmten Ausnahmefällen vom Zustimmungsvorbehalt des Patienten ausnimmt, werden sich diese Möglichkeiten noch erweitern.  

Was das schnelle Vorgehen der Amerikaner beim Aufbau einer „COVID-19 Real-World Evidence Platform“ darüber hinaus möglich macht, ist die enge Zusammenarbeit der Federal Drug Agency (FDA) mit privatwirtschaftlichen Unternehmen, zu denen auch junge, von VCs finanzierte Start-ups wie Aetion und Health Verity gehören. Private gemeinnützige Stiftungen wie die Reagan-Udall Foundation organisieren darüber hinaus Foren, in denen sich Universitäten, Leistungserbringer und auch Pharmaunternehmen über die zu beantwortenden Kernfragen und die dafür benötigten Daten verständigen.

Während in Europa bei Fragen des Datenzugriffs zwischen privaten Unternehmen und öffentlicher Forschung strikt unterschieden wird, verfolgen die USA also einen kollaborativen Ansatz, bei dem neben Pharmafirmen auch Start-ups und private Stiftungen mit einbezogen und sogar viele Koordinationsaufgaben auf private Unternehmen übertragen werden. Dabei werden Koordinations- und Formatfragen noch parallel zur Errichtung des Systems „agil“ geklärt, was zu einer weiteren Beschleunigung führt.

Ausblick

Zusammen mit der EU-unterstützten covidX-Initiative und in enger Abstimmung mit der CompuGroup Medical SE entwickeln wir aktuell ein Konzept, wie ein vergleichbares System innerhalb des „European Health Data Space“ gestaltet und noch 2021 verfügbar gemacht werden könnte. Mehr Informationen zu dieser Initiative finden Sie hier: www.covidx.eu/healthmirror.

Logo© 2019 - 2020 LSP Digital GmbH & Co. KG
ImpressumDatenschutz