InsightsHow we workTeamJoin German
Data Readiness Check
back to overview

“Big Data” or “Media Companies Stranded on Their Data Journey?”
A Pragmatic Approach for a New Travel Plan

Marc Schröder, 22. Oktober 2020

Five years ago, the realization that global platforms from the U.S. and China, controlling the customer interface and creating their competitive advantage based on their access to data, sent shock waves through several industries. The data economy was born. Since then, a great deal has happened – especially and also within the media sector.

On the one hand, examples such as Netflix and Disney demonstrate that even in the age of the data economy, traditional competitive advantages, e.g., access to talent and content quality, can play the decisive role. On the other hand, traditional media players have also asserted the point of view that data and the insights derived from it are the necessary requirements for superior decisions, products, and services.

Of course, it would be quite bold to claim that media decision-makers had not made data-based decisions in the past – one must only think of the comprehensive and extremely granular AGF-TV audience panel in Germany, which has provided the basis for programming decisions for decades. But up until now, data was frequently compiled for a clearly defined and isolated purpose, a specific analysis. Moreover, data was often the side product of core value added processes, which had to be collected for other reasons, e.g., to satisfy documentation obligations or legal requirements.

There have been many attempts to describe what is actually the new point of view on data in the data economy. And there are even more views on what it means for media companies as well as recommendations for how they should act specifically.

In our experience, it is crucial to approach data projects as pragmatically as possible. In developing data strategies with our clients, we have had the experience that completely new approaches in project management are essential in order to avoid typical pitfalls and develop strategies that have a realistic chance of being implemented.

Why Data Projects in Media Companies Fail

Even though it seems common understanding that the topic of data is relevant and important, and untapped potential is seen in this field, there are often misgivings about it at the top management level. Data is regarded as a technical matter and not a strategic one, which is frequently delegated to IT departments but not instigated by those responsible for the P&L, let alone from managing directors or the executive board. Why is that?

A possible reason is that many corporates and consulting firms approach the phenomenon of data with a traditional, strategic arsenal of tools. Illustration 1 shows the traditional approach.

As usual, at the outset of this traditional approach is the data strategy. Afterwards, the technological, organizational, and cultural framework is created and ultimately, concrete applications (use cases) are developed. So far, so problematic.

This approach contains a series of hazards. Here are a few examples:

  • The strategy is often developed on the basis of optimistic assumptions about the availability and applicability of data. Technical, data-protection and legal obstacles become evident only later in the process and require at least a re-examination of the strategy.
  • Due to a lack of human and organizational resources, the data strategy is entirely developed from outside the company.  Very often, there is no in-house data champion, who can assess external recommendations, judge their feasibility, and ensure their implementation within the specific context of the company. Particularly in media companies that have benefited for an extended period from the experience and intuition  of their creative decision-makers, this is quite common.
  • Technology decisions are often made on the basis of being “fascinated by possibilities” and are not closely oriented along the requirements of subsequent use cases. Oftentimes, cost-intensive programs are initiated in order to "make the company ready for Big Data," although this is not even necessary in the first place. Some applications operate perfectly well with mySQL data bases and do not require a Hadoop cluster.
  • When use cases are developed on the basis of a narrow strategical corridor and early fundamental decisions on technology, interesting opportunities are often missed. In this way, use cases are primarily developed with the focus on direct top- and bottom-line impact (see: “Examples of Traditional Data Use Cases in Media Companies” below). Completely new data-based business models are thereby overlooked, which may be off-strategy, but can generate value when regarded as diversification business or opportunistically brought into a partnership with a partner for whom this data offers a strategic competitive advantage.

The Pragmatic Approach – iterative and Agile Data Strategy

The above examples demonstrate that a traditional sequential waterfall approach to developing and implementing a data strategy contains considerable hazards.

We therefore recommend to execute individual project modules simultaneously — analyzing internal and external data sources for their availability and applicability, identifying the necessary technical and organizational prerequisites (infrastructure), as well as developing use cases in the core business and beyond. These activities are accompanied by an ongoing check to see if the results are fundamentally compatible with the business strategy. The data strategy is consciously not the point of departure for all deliberations but to some extent the result of them.

This simultaneous approach can be organized with traditional project management tools. However, the agile project method is particularly suitable. Illustration 2 shows this approach.

In different phases of the project – or as indicated here, sprints – the individual modules can have different priorities. Typically in early phases, the focus is on taking stock of the availability and applicability of internal data in order to broadly estimate which value pools the company can create with data. At the same time, early brainstorming sessions can be conducted about use cases. In later phases, strategic deliberations, which emerge based on initial internal findings, come to the fore. At the same time, technical requirements can also be discussed based on a preliminary list of use cases. The key is, that the results of different phases are summarized at the end of the project into a data strategy that is robust, well structured, and communicable in various levels of detail.

 

Summary

The data economy is here to stay. Most media companies have already embarked upon the data journey. Now is the time to revise the travel plan based on a pragmatic, iterative, and potentially agile process.

Excursion: Examples of Data Use Cases in Media Companies

Value Lever 1: Increasing Efficacy and Revenue

Improvement and personalization of product experience:

  • Passive personalization of contents in digital media
  • Recommendation function in streaming offers
  • Dynamic optimization of spot placement in linear TV to minimize zapping
  • (Proprietary) recommendation function for digital editorial contents
  • Optimization of storytelling and/or casting for film and video productions
  • New products based on facial/pattern recognition in images and videos

(Semi-)automation of pricing decisions:

  • Automated A-/B-testing for special offers
  • Price optimization for advertising impressions in programmatic and non-programmatic areas
  • Dynamic pricing for print ads in the booking tool, depending on anticipated additional printing costs

Refinement of advertising impressions for targeting via (proprietary) data enrichment

Dynamic adjustment of marketing and sales channels

Lead scoring for outbound sales activities

Value Lever 2: Increasing Efficacy and Reducing Cost Basis

  • Automation of management reporting in all corporate areas using visualization tools (e.g., Tableau, PowerBI)
  • Partial automation of youth protection processes (text passages, video scenes are automatically marked as inappropriate for minors)
  • Automated content generation: Editorial items (currently possible e.g., for financial and weather content), video clips, personalized newsletters/activation e-mails
  • Optimization of processes in production management (for producers and content aggregators) by establishing automatic feedback loops and benchmarks
  • Scoring models based on automated (text) analysis of scripts, concepts, and other creative products
Logo© 2019 - 2020 LSP Digital GmbH & Co. KG
ImprintPrivacy

InsightsHow we workTeamJoin English
Data Readiness Check
zurück zur Übersicht

„Big Data“ oder „Medienunternehmen gestrandet auf der Datenreise?“
Ein pragmatischer Ansatz für eine neue Reiseplanung

Marc Schröder, 22. Oktober 2020

Schon vor einem halben Jahrzehnt hat die Erkenntnis, dass global agierende Plattformen aus USA und China, die die Schnittstelle zum Kunden besetzen und ihren Wettbewerbsvorteil aus dem Zugang zu Daten beziehen, Schockwellen durch viele Branchen geschickt. Die Datenökonomie war geboren. Seitdem ist viel passiert – auch und insbesondere auf dem Medienmarkt.

Einerseits zeigen Beispiele wie Netflix oder Disney, dass auch in Zeiten der Datenökonomie traditionelle Wettbewerbsvorteile wie Zugang zu Talent und Qualität von Inhalten die entscheidende Rolle spielen können. Andererseits hat sich auch bei traditionellen Medienspielern die Sichtweise durchgesetzt, dass Daten und daraus generierte Erkenntnisse die notwendige Bedingung für überlegene Entscheidungen, Produkte und Dienstleistungen sind.

Natürlich wäre es grob fahrlässig zu behaupten, dass Medienentscheider in der Vergangenheit keine datenbasierten Entscheidungen getroffen hätten – man denke nur an das umfangreiche und sehr granulare AGF-TV-Zuschauerpanel, auf dessen Basis schon seit Jahrzehnten Programmentscheidungen vorbereitet werden. Aber bislang wurden Daten häufig für einen klar definierten und isolierten Zweck, eine spezifische Fragestellung erhoben. Weiterhin waren Daten häufig ein Abfallprodukt der Kernwertschöpfung, die teilweise erhoben werden mussten, z.B. um Dokumentationspflichten oder rechtlichen Anforderungen zu genügen.

Es gibt viele Versuche zu beschreiben, was eigentlich neu ist an der Betrachtung von Daten in der Datenökonomie. Und es gibt noch mehr Einschätzungen, was das für Medienunternehmen bedeutet,  sowie Empfehlungen, wie sie konkret handeln sollten.

Aus unserer Erfahrung ist es wichtig, dass Datenprojekte so pragmatisch wie möglich angegangen werden. Selbst in der Erarbeitung von Datenstrategien mit unseren Kunden haben wir die Erfahrung gemacht, dass völlig neue Ansätze in der Projektarbeit notwendig sind, um typische Fehler zu vermeiden und Strategien zu entwickeln, die eine realistische Chance auf Implementierung haben.     

Warum Datenprojekte in Medienunternehmen scheitern

Auch wenn offenbar die Erkenntnis verbreitet ist, dass „das Thema Daten“ relevant und wichtig ist und man in diesem Bereich noch Potential sieht, gibt es häufig noch Berührungsängste im Top Management. Daten werden als technisches und nicht als strategisches Thema gesehen, das häufig in die Technik- und IT-Abteilungen delegiert wird, aber nicht von den Geschäftsverantwortlichen geschweige denn der Geschäftsführung oder dem Vorstand getrieben wird. Warum ist das so?

Eine mögliche Ursache liegt darin, dass viele Industrie- und Beratungsunternehmen dem Phänomen Daten mit dem klassischen strategischen Instrumentarium begegnen. Abbildung 1 zeigt die klassische Vorgehensweise.

Am Anfang dieses klassischen Ansatzes steht wie üblich die Datenstrategie. Danach werden die technologischen, organisatorischen und kulturellen Rahmenbedingungen geschaffen und schließlich konkrete Anwendungen („Use Cases“) entwickelt. So weit, so problematisch.

Dieser Ansatz birgt nämlich eine Reihe von Gefahren. Hier einige Beispiele:

  • Die Strategie wird häufig auf der Basis von optimistischen Annahmen über die Verfügbarkeit und Verwendbarkeit von Daten entwickelt. Technische und datenschutzrechtliche Hürden fallen erst später im Prozess auf und erfordern zumindest eine Überprüfung der Strategie.
  • Mangels personeller und organisatorischer Voraussetzungen wird die Datenstrategie komplett extern entwickelt. Es fehlt häufig der interne „Daten-Champion“, der die Empfehlungen von außen einordnen, ihre Machbarkeit einschätzen und die Umsetzung im spezifischen Kontext des Unternehmens gewährleisten kann. Gerade in Medienunternehmen, die lange Zeit von der Erfahrung und der intuitiven Einschätzung ihrer kreativen Entscheider profitiert haben, ist dies sehr verbreitet.
  • Technologieentscheidungen werden häufig auf der Basis der „Faszination des Möglichen“ getroffen und nicht eng an den Erfordernissen der späteren Use Cases ausgerichtet. Häufig werden kostenintensive Programme gestartet, um das Unternehmen „ready for Big Data“ zu machen, obwohl dies im ersten Schritt gar nicht nötig gewesen wäre. So manche Anwendung kommt mit mySQL-Datenbanken aus und benötigt kein Hadoop-Cluster.
  • Wenn Use Cases auf Basis eines engen strategischen Korridors und bereits vorliegender technologischer Grundlagen entwickelt werden, werden häufig interessante Chancen verpasst. So werden Use-Cases häufig mit dem Ziel der Umsatz- oder Effizienzsteigerung entwickelt (vgl. Exkurs „Beispiele klassischer Data Use Cases in Medienunternehmen“ am Ende dieses Artikels). Dabei werden aber komplett neue datenbasierte Geschäftsmodelle übersehen, die vielleicht „off-strategy“ sind, aber dennoch Wert generieren können, indem man sie als Diversifikation betrachtet oder opportunistisch in eine Partnerschaft mit jemandem einbringt, für den diese Daten einen strategischen Wettbewerbsvorteil bieten.

Der pragmatische Ansatz – iterative und agile Datenstrategie

Die obigen Beispiele zeigen, dass eine klassische sequentielle Vorgehensweise bei der Entwicklung und Umsetzung einer Datenstrategie erhebliche Gefahren birgt.

Wir empfehlen daher eine gleichzeitige Bearbeitung der einzelnen Module - der Analyse der internen und externen Datenquellen auf Verfügbarkeit und Verwendbarkeit, der Identifikation der notwendigen technischen und organisatorischen Voraussetzungen („Infrastruktur“), sowie die Entwicklung von Use Cases im Kerngeschäft und darüber hinaus. Flankiert werden diese Aktivitäten mit einer laufenden Überprüfung, ob die Ergebnisse im Kern kompatibel mit der Unternehmensstrategie sind. Die Daten-Strategie ist hier bewusst nicht Ausgangspunkt aller Überlegungen, sondern teilweise deren Ergebnis.

Dabei können natürlich klassische Projektmanagement-Tools eingesetzt werden. Bei diesem Vorgehen bietet sich aber insbesondere ein agiler Projektansatz an. Abbildung 2 zeigt diese Vorgehensweise.

In unterschiedlichen Phasen – oder wie hier angedeutet Sprints – des Projekts können die einzelnen Module unterschiedlich gewichtet sein. So liegt typischerweise in frühen Phasen der Fokus auf der Bestandsaufnahme der Verfügbarkeit und Verwendbarkeit von internen Daten, um überhaupt einschätzen zu können, welche Wertpotentiale das Unternehmen aus Daten ziehen kann. Zeitgleich können erste Brainstormings über Use Cases angestellt werden. In späteren Phasen treten dann strategische Überlegungen in den Vordergrund, die sich erst auf Basis der ersten internen Erkenntnisse ergeben. Zeitgleich können auf der Basis einer ersten Liste von Use Cases auch die technischen Notwendigkeiten diskutiert werden. Wichtig ist, dass die Ergebnisse der verschiedenen Phasen am Ende eines Projekts in einem robusten, gut strukturierten und in unterschiedlichen Detaillierungsgraden kommunizierbaren Datenstrategie zusammengefasst werden.

 

Fazit

Die Datenökonomie ist Realität. Die meisten Medienunternehmen sind bereits auf der Datenreise. Jetzt ist die Zeit zur Überarbeitung der Reiseplanung auf Basis eines pragmatischen, iterativen und möglicherweise agilen Prozesses.

Exkurs: Beispiele klassischer Data Use Cases in Medienunternehmen

Werthebel 1: Steigerung von Effektivität und Umsatz

Verbesserung und Personalisierung des Produkterlebnisses:

  • passive Personalisierung von Inhalten in digitalen Medien
  • Empfehlungsfunktion bei Streaming-Angeboten
  • Dynamische Optimierung der Werbeinsel-Platzierung im linearen TV zur Minimierung des Zapping-Faktors
  • (Proprietäre) Empfehlungsfunktion bei digitalen redaktionellen Inhalten
  • Optimierung des Storytelling oder Casting bei Film- und Videoproduktionen
  • Neue Produkte auf Basis von Gesichts-/Mustererkennung in Bild und Video

(Semi-)Automatisierung von Pricing-Entscheidungen:

  • automatisiertes A-/B-Testing für Aktions-Angebote
  • Preisoptimierung für Werbekontakte im programmatischen und nicht-programmatischen Bereich
  • Dynamische Preissetzung für Print-Anzeigen im Buchungstool in Abhängigkeit von zu erwartenden zusätzlichen Druckkosten

Veredlung von Werbekontakten für Targeting durch Anreicherung mit (proprietären) Daten

Dynamische Aussteuerung von Markteting- und Vertriebskanälen

Lead Scoring für Outbound-Vertriebsaktivitäten

Werthebel 2: Steigerung von Effizienz und Reduktion der Kostenbasis

  • Automatisierung von Management-Reportings in allen Unternehmensbereichen über Visualisierungstools (z.B. Tableau oder PowerBI)
  • Teil-Automatisierung von Jugendschutz-Prozessen (Textabschnitte, Szenen in Videos werden automatisiert als jugendgefährdend markiert)
  • Automatisierte Content-Generierung: Redaktionelle Artikel (derzeit z.B. bei Finanz- und Wetter-Angeboten etabliert), Videoclips, Personalisierte Newsletter/Aktivierungsmails
  • Optimierung von Prozessen im Produktionsmanagement (für Produzenten und deren Auftraggeber) durch Etablierung von automatischen Feedback-Schleifen und Benchmarks
  • Scoring-Modelle auf Basis automatischer (Text-) Analyse von Scripts, Konzepten und sonstigen kreativen Produkten
Logo© 2019 - 2020 LSP Digital GmbH & Co. KG
ImpressumDatenschutz