InsightsHow we workTeamJoin German
Data Readiness Check
back to overview

Data Platforms as Enablers to Successfully Transform Urban Mobility

Philipp Auer, 09. November 2020

In September 2020, leading representatives of Germany's mobility industry convened for an automobile summit at the Office of the Federal Chancellor in order to explore participant readiness for a national platform (Handelsblatt Sept. 7, 2020). For the next summit in November, concrete approaches about implementing a mobility data room are to constitute the focus of discussions. Yet to date there have been reservations within the automobile industry about taking part in a mobility data room — in particular, a number of representatives do not appear to be convinced that joining this data platform will reap benefits commensurate with the true value of their data (Handelsblatt Oct. 28, 2020). At the same time, the industry faces immense changes, for cities wish to override the dominance of automobiles in city traffic and facilitate other modes of transportation. But transforming mobility is an extensive and arduous endeavor (see Illustration 1).

Illustration 1 | Source: own visualization, nxt statista

What is the driving force behind the transformation in mobility?

The concept of modernity in mobility has clearly progressed since the automobile was invented. Nowadays, we like to refer to it as Mobility 4.0. This is characterized by four central attributes.

Illustration 2 | Source: own visualization, nxt statista

That the modern-day mobility turnaround in an urban context fulfills all the criteria for the aforementioned attributes can be traced to two factors: the ongoing process of digitalization and climate change.

Digitalization has led to an enormous change in mobility behavior in urban areas. Connected vehicles, the general use of smartphones, and the immense computing power of the cloud have created new categories of options. In place of ownership, the temporary use of transportation types has entered the scene — the collaborative use of mobility offers has shifted the focus towards the model of the sharing economy.

At the same time, global climate conditions have become increasingly critical. Traffic still constitutes a major source of greenhouse gases. For this reason, urban areas are actively attempting to push back on the dominant position of the automobile. Mobility 4.0 brings with it all the technical and contextual prerequisites to implement the transformation to sustainable mobility with success. Many cities are already testing and promoting new traffic concepts, e.g., in order to use modes of transportation much more efficiently through the sharing economy. Most cities prefer this approach over the last resort: driving bans in the city center or a city toll.

What significance does data have in all of this?

The transformation in mobility behavior requires an immense amount of data. In effect, data is the gasoline for Mobility 4.0, and with the inclusion of new data sources, this transformation gains momentum.  In the process, data is not only retrieved to improve efficiency, but is increasingly becoming the starting point for completely new business models. A unique role is played here by mobility data platforms that encourage data exchange and thus allow for the emergence of innovative business models. Based on the notable significance of the mobility sector, the government itself is seeking to have a strong role by precisely allowing such mobility data platforms to take shape (see, for example, the Federal Highway Research Institute's MDM Mobilitäts Daten Marktplatz or, currently under construction, Datenraum Mobility). The objective is to promote innovative ideas through the exchange of data in order to safeguard overarching public interests.

Relevant mobility data can be found for every traffic type — often, the only remaining question is whether the access to the given data point is made possible through public sources or if commercial data is involved. In the latter instance, this data is usually not provided without (monetary) compensation and/or is not made accessible to third parties for strategic reasons.

In Illustration 3, we show that accessible mobility data is already quite diverse and can be identified along the various automobile, short-range public transportation, bicycle, e-scooter, and pedestrian traffic models. Added to this is infrastructure data that for example gains importance for smart traffic routing.

Illustration 3 | Source: own visualization, nxt statista

Which role do data platforms have for mobility transformation?

In particular, vehicle data from automobile manufacturers is that kind of data type that has lately been generating significant interest. Such data is not only interesting for original equipment manufacturers (OEMs) but also serves as the basis for insurance companies in order to offer discounted telematic rates. In addition to those business opportunities it becomes apparent how data itself enables new business models. With Wunder City, for example, Wunder Mobility has a product in its portfolio that gives cities greater transparency regarding available private mobility offers. Visual processing within a dashboard offers the possibility of executing the necessary analyses with the correct data and integrating insights to into urban planning processes. 

Looking ahead, it can be assumed that urban traffic challenges cannot be solved with just one idea. Rather, a multitude of innovative ideas will be needed to orient urban mobility more definitively towards sustainability. With that, cities occupy a special role, as they are able to exert a significant influence with their urban planning processes — yet concerning this, they need to know what is happening in their cities in concrete terms and how mobility behavior is changing.  Ultimately, it is all about increased transparency by using data. An important index for which regular updates currently do not exist is the modal split — this information is only updated by large cities every 5-6 years on account of the significant manual effort involved. If cities were in the position to consolidate the sources and data shown in illustration 3 in a data-protected manner, the modal split could be monitored in shorter intervals. This would help to track if implemented traffic measures have the desired effect on user behavior, reflected in the modal split.

Moreover, target groups from the corporate sector would benefit from a mobility platform — through data, they could develop new, creative products and shape the structures of demand. Up until now, a truly comprehensive, central point of exchange for mobility has not been successfully established. Approaches thus far have largely lacked the typical success factors of data platforms: a clear focus on clients and benefits, high usability, additional data enrichment through secondary data and possibilities for analysis, as well as an attractive price structure for all involved parties. It would be advantageous to focus on the reciprocity of a data platform: selling and purchasing data through the same marketplace participant. This way data that was previously withheld for strategic reasons could be made available. The anticipated cash flow could be oriented towards fixed prices per retrieval, the Spotify model of royalty pools or even countersales.

However, as long as only one marketplace comes into existence that is driven by a public sector, which delineates a small segment of the potential world of data mobility or wishes to convince participants to get involved by offering insufficient compensation, subsequent attempts will fail in the long run.

Should you generate mobility data within your company or rely upon it for operative processes, please get in touch with us. With our experienced consultants and our data science team, we are not only in the position to determine the strategic value of your data, but we can also assess with which data you could optimize your own processes.

Sources

Logo© 2019 - 2021 LSP Digital GmbH & Co. KG
ImprintPrivacy

InsightsHow we workTeamJoinData Readiness Check
zurück zur Übersicht

Datenplattformen als Enabler für den erfolgreichen Wandel urbaner Mobilität

Philipp Auer, 09. November 2020

Im September 2020 trafen sich führende Vertreter der deutschen Mobilitätsbranche im Kanzleramt zum Autogipfel, um die Bereitschaft der Teilnehmer für eine nationale Datenplattform zu sondieren (siehe Handelsblatt vom 07.09.20). Für den nächsten Gipfel im November sollen bereits konkrete Ansätze für die Umsetzung eines Datenraums Mobilität im Fokus der Diskussionen stehen. Bisher gibt es jedoch aus der Automobilbranche gegenüber der Teilnahme am Datenraum Mobilität Vorbehalte – insbesondere scheinen einige Vertreter der Branche nicht davon überzeugt zu sein, den wahren Wert ihrer Daten durch Beitritt zu dieser Datenplattform in einen angemessenen Nutzen zu überführen (siehe Handelsblatt vom 28.10.20). Dabei steht die Branche vor massiven Veränderungen, denn Städte wollen die Dominanz des Automobils im städtischen Verkehr brechen und andere Verkehrsmodi begünstigen. Doch der Mobilitätswandel ist ein umfangreiches und zähes Unterfangen (siehe Grafik 1).

Grafik 1 | Quelle: Eigene Darstellung nxt statista

Was treibt den Mobilitätswandel an?

Die "moderne" Mobilität hat sich seit der Erfindung des Automobils deutlich weiterentwickelt. Heute spricht man gerne von Mobilität 4.0. Gekennzeichnet ist diese von vier zentralen Merkmalen.

Grafik 2 | Quelle: Eigene Darstellung nxt statista

Dass die heutige Mobilitätswende im städtischen Kontext alle Voraussetzungen für die zuvor genannten Merkmale mitbringt, ist auf zwei Effekte zurückzuführen: die anhaltende Digitalisierung und den Klimawandel.

Die Digitalisierung hat dazu geführt, dass sich das Mobilitätsverhalten in Städten massiv verändert. Vernetzte Fahrzeuge, die allgegenwärtige Nutzung von Smartphones und die immense Rechenpower in der Cloud haben neue Angebotskategorien geschaffen. Anstelle des Besitzes ist die temporäre Nutzung von Verkehrstypen getreten - die kollaborative Nutzung von Mobilitätsangeboten rückt als Sharing Economy in den Fokus.

Gleichzeitig verschärfen sich die globalen klimatischen Umstände. Der Verkehr ist immer noch eine wesentliche Quelle für Treibhausgasausstoß. Daher versuchen Städte aktiv die dominante Rolle des Automobils zurückzudrängen. Die Mobilität 4.0 bringt hierbei alle technischen und inhaltlichen Voraussetzungen mit, um den Wandel hin zu nachhaltiger Mobilität erfolgreich zu gestalten. Viele Städte testen und fördern bereits neue Verkehrskonzepte, bspw. um durch die Sharing Economy Verkehrsmodi deutlich effizienter zu nutzen. Städte ziehen dieses Vorgehen meistens noch der ultima ratio vor: innerstädtische Fahrverbote oder eine City-Maut.

Welche Bedeutung haben Daten hierbei?

Der zuvor beschriebene Wandel im Mobilitätsverhalten bedingt eine immense Menge an Daten. Daten sind so etwas wie der Treibstoff für die Mobilität 4.0 und mit der Erschließung neuer Datenquellen beschleunigt sich dieser Wandel. Hierbei werden Daten nicht nur zur Effizienzsteigerung herangezogen, sondern sind zunehmend Ausgangspunkt für ganz neue Geschäftsmodelle. Eine besondere Rolle spielen hierbei Mobilitätsdatenplattformen, die den Datenaustausch fördern und so innovative Geschäftsmodelle entstehen lassen sollen. Auf Grund der hohen Bedeutung des Mobilitätssektors, versucht der Staat selbst eine starke Rolle einzunehmen, in dem er genau solche Mobilitätsdatenplattformen entstehen lässt (siehe bspw. den MDM - Mobilitäts Daten Marktplatz der BASt oder der aktuell in der Entstehung befindliche Datenraum Mobilität ). Ziel ist es über den Datenaustausch innovative Ideen zu fördern, um letztlich übergeordnete, öffentliche Interessen sicherzustellen.

Relevante Mobilitätsdaten findet man für jeden Verkehrstypen - die Frage ist meist nur, ob der Zugriff auf die jeweiligen Datenpunkte durch die öffentliche Hand ermöglicht wird oder es sich um privatwirtschaftliche Daten handelt. Im letzten Fall werden diese Daten meist nicht ohne (monetäre) Gegenleistung zur Verfügung gestellt oder aus strategischen Aspekten heraus Dritten nicht zugänglich gemacht.

Unsere Grafik 3 zeigt, dass verfügbare Mobilitätsdaten bereits sehr vielfältig sind und sich entlang der verschiedenen Verkehrsmodi Auto, ÖPNV, Rad/ E-Scooter und Fußgänger identifizieren lassen. Hinzu kommen noch Daten smarter Infrastruktur, die bspw. im Rahmen intelligenter Verkehrsführung an Bedeutung gewinnt.

Grafik 3 | Quelle: Eigene Darstellung nxt statista

Welche Rolle spielen Datenplattformen für den Mobilitätswandel?

Daten, die bereits heute ein großes Interesse wecken, sind insbesondere die Informationen, die von den Automobilherstellern erfasst werden. Solche Daten sind nicht nur für die OEMs selbst von Interesse, sondern sind schon heute auch Basis für Versicherungen, um rabattierte Telematik-Tarife anzubieten. An anderer Stelle zeigt sich, wie Daten an sich neue Geschäftsmodelle ermöglichen. Mit Wunder City hat Wunder Mobility beispielweise ein Produkt im Portfolio, das Städten mehr Transparenz über verfügbare private Mobilitätsangebote schafft. Die visuelle Aufbereitung in einem Dashboard bietet dabei die Möglichkeit, mit den richtigen Daten notwendige Analysen durchzuführen und Erkenntnisse bspw. in städtebauliche Planungsprozesse einfließen zu lassen. 

Mit Blick in die Zukunft ist davon auszugehen, dass urbane Verkehrsherausforderungen sich nicht mit "der einen Idee" lösen lassen. Vielmehr werden eine Vielzahl von Innovationen notwendig sein, um urbane Mobilität stärker auf Nachhaltigkeit auszurichten. Dabei nehmen Städte eine besondere Rolle ein, da sie mit ihren städtebaulichen Planungsprozessen massiv auf diese Entwicklung einwirken können – hierzu müssen sie jedoch wissen, was in ihren Städten konkret passiert und wie sich das Mobilitätsverhalten ändert. Letztlich geht es um mehr Transparenz durch Daten. Eine wichtige Kennzahl, zu der es heute keine regelmäßigen Updates gibt, ist der Modal-Split – von größeren Städten wird diese Information auf Grund des hohen manuellen Aufwands nur alle 5-6 Jahre erhoben. Wären Städte in der Lage die in Grafik 3 genannten Quellen und Daten datenschutzkonform zusammenzuführen, könnte bspw. in kürzeren Abständen geprüft werden, ob sich durch Umsetzung von Verkehrsmaßnahmen der gewünschte Effekt im Nutzungsverhalten der Bürger einstellt und sich dies schließlich im Modal-Split widerspiegelt.

Auch Zielgruppen aus der Privatwirtschaft würden von einer Mobilitäts-Datenplattform profitieren – durch Daten könnten sie neue innovative Produktangebote entwickeln und so die Nachfragestrukturen verändern. Bisher ist es jedoch nicht gelungen, einen wirklich umfassenden, zentralen Austauschpunkt für Mobilitätsdaten im Markt zu etablieren. Die bisherigen Ansätze missen meist typische Erfolgsfaktoren von Datenplattformen: einen klaren Kunden- und Nutzenfokus, eine hohe Usability, weitere Datenanreicherung durch Sekundärdaten und Analysemöglichkeiten, sowie eine attraktive Preisstruktur für alle Beteiligten. Von Vorteil wäre es die Reziprozität einer Datenplattform in den Fokus zu stellen: Datenverkauf und Dateneinkauf durch den selben Marktplatzteilnehmer. Hierdurch könnten auch zuvor aus strategischen Gründen zurückgehaltene Daten verfügbar gemacht werden. Die zu erwartenden Geldflüsse könnten sich dabei an festen Preisen je Abruf, dem Spotify-Ansatz über Royalty-Pools bis hin zu Gegenschäften orientieren.

Solange jedoch von der öffentlichen Hand vorangetrieben nur ein Marktplatz entsteht, der einen kleinen Ausschnitt der möglichen Mobilitätsdatenwelt abbildet oder die Teilnehmer mit einer nicht marktgerechten Vergütung zur Teilnahme bewegen möchte, werden weitere Versuche auf lange Sicht scheitern.

Sollten Sie mit ihrem Unternehmen Mobilitätsdaten generieren oder auf diese für operative Prozesse angewiesen sein, kommen sie gerne auf uns zu. Mit unseren erfahrenen Beratern und unserem Data Science Team sind wir nicht nur in der Lage die strategische Wertigkeit ihrer Daten zu bestimmen, sondern auch zu evaluieren, mit welchen Daten sie eigene Abläufe optimieren könnten.

Quellen

Logo© 2019 - 2020 LSP Digital GmbH & Co. KG
ImpressumDatenschutz