InsightsHow we workTeamJoin German
Data Readiness Check
back to overview

Data Science Techniques: When will the Arctic be ice free?

Daniel Senftleben, 01. Oktober 2020

“Arctic sea-ice shrinks to near record low extent” (BBC News, 21 Sep 2020), “Another wake-up call: sea ice loss is speeding up” (UN Environment Programme, 28 Sep 2020), “A chunk of ice twice the size of Manhattan has broken off Greenland in the last two years” (CNN, 14 Sep 2020) - Headlines such as these have been piling up in the media in recent weeks. Climate change has manifested in the Arctic like nowhere else on Earth. At the same time, the Artic is also the region with the largest discrepancies in the results of global climate model simulations, making predictions of its future extremely challenging.

In our projects, we also encounter data sources of equally high quality but with analysis results that are in part contradictory. The key here is to not simply average the available data, but to apply weights to the different data sources according to their validity for answering the question at hand. Estimating this validity can be a challenging task by and of itself. A typical approach of back testing is to evaluate the data sources on their ability to predict those parameters that are most relevant to the problem.

So, when will the Arctic be ice free for the first time in millions of years? “Ice free” is commonly defined as a sea ice extent of below one million km², observed in September (yearly minimum). Assuming a so-called “business-as-usual” greenhouse gas emission scenario, projections of 29 of the most renowned global climate models here range from the year 2040 to beyond 2100, with 2076 the arithmetic mean year of an ice-free Arctic (see red lines in Figure 1).

Figure 1. Climate projections of September Arctic sea ice extent from 29 global climate models (gray), with the arithmetic mean (red) and the mean weighted with MDER (blue). For each mean, the vertical lines indicate the first year below 1 million km² of sea ice extent. Gray shading indicates the areas of +/- 1 standard deviation around each mean. Adapted from Senftleben et al. 2020, Figure 7.

The MDER method (Multiple Diagnostic Ensemble Regression, Karpechko et al. 2013) can be used to narrow down this range of uncertainty. First, a complex algorithm iteratively determines the most relevant parameters for the prediction of sea ice extent. From a pool of 15 different diagnostics, MDER has identified two: mean sea ice extent and trend in Arctic air temperatures. The climate models are then weighted according to their observed capability of reproducing these two aspects in the past. With this approach, the span in the projected year of a first-time ice-free Arctic was narrowed down by 15 years. Additionally, the weighted mean is 14 years earlier, in 2062 (see blue lines in Figure 1).

The MDER method is only one of many options to yield deeper insights from the widespread simulation results of the Arctic climate – however, almost all of them point to a more pessimistic outlook on the Arctic’s future than the arithmetic mean suggests. Whereas the observed retreat of Arctic sea ice over the past few decades has been far more pronounced than the one predicted by climate models, this discrepancy has been factored in and corrected by the MDER model.

In the context of our nxt statista projects, these findings demonstrate that it is not enough to simply average available, diverging data sources, even if they seem to be of similar quality. It is crucial to identify the most relevant parameters for answering the question at hand and then assign greater weight to those data sources that more accurately represent these parameters. In an economic context, it is vital to also rely on expert knowledge when selecting possible parameters in order to conduct analyses in the most efficient way.

References

https://www.bbc.com/news/science-environment-54211760

https://www.unenvironment.org/news-and-stories/story/another-wake-call-sea-ice-loss-speeding

https://edition.cnn.com/2020/09/14/europe/greenland-arctic-ice-shelf-intl/index.html

Karpechko, A. Y., D. Maraun, and V. Eyring, 2013: Improving Antarctic Total Ozone Projections by a Process-Oriented Multiple Diagnostic Ensemble Regression. Journal of the Atmospheric Sciences, 70, 3959-3976. https://doi.org/10.1175/jas-d-13-071.1

Senftleben, D., A. Lauer, and A. Karpechko, 2020: Constraining Uncertainties in CMIP5 Projections of September Arctic Sea Ice Extent with Observations. Journal of Climate, 33, 1487–1503, https://doi.org/10.1175/JCLI-D-19-0075.1.

Next article

Fighting COVID-19 with data

The importance of medical data for combating diseases has never been more evident than during the corona pandemic. It is not only about recording the outbreak in as much detail as possible and on a real-time basis; the disease needed to be understood in the first place by exchanging observations and findings, and best-practice benchmarks had to be developed pertaining to specific patient groups and symptoms. This process is far from being completed, especially with regard to long-term health implications.

Thilo Löwe, 2020-10-08
Logo© 2019 - 2020 LSP Digital GmbH & Co. KG
ImprintPrivacy

InsightsHow we workTeamJoin English
Data Readiness Check
zurück zur Übersicht

Data Science Methoden - ab wann ist die Arktis eisfrei?

Daniel Senftleben, 01. Oktober 2020

„Das Eis in der Arktis schwindet - in diesem Sommer so stark wie fast noch nie.“ (Spiegel, 24.09.2020), „Prognose: Arktis 2050 eisfrei“ (n-tv, 24.09.2020), „Schmelzende Polkappen könnten Meeresspiegel um bis zu 39 Zentimeter steigen lassen“ (Zeit, 17.09.2020) – Meldungen dieser Art häufen sich seit einigen Tagen wieder in den Medien. Nirgendwo auf der Welt manifestiert sich der Klimawandel so stark wie in der Arktis. Doch gerade in dieser Region sind die Unterschiede in den Simulationsergebnissen von globalen Klimamodellen besonders groß, was Vorhersagen über die zukünftige Entwicklung des arktischen Eises enorm erschwert.

Auch in unseren Projekten stehen wir häufig einer Vielzahl von für sich genommen jeweils hochwertigen Datenquellen gegenüber, deren Analyse jedoch zu teils widersprüchlichen Aussagen führt. In solchen Situationen ist es entscheidend, dass nicht einfach nur ein Durchschnitt aus den verfügbaren Daten ermittelt wird, sondern die verschiedenen Quellen entsprechend ihrer Aussagekraft für die zu untersuchende Fragestellung gewichtet werden. Diese Aussagekraft zu ermitteln kann allein schon eine anspruchsvolle Analyseaufgabe sein. Typischerweise wird hierfür untersucht, welche Datenquellen sich beim „Backtesting“ für jene Parameter als besonders prognosesicher erweisen, die für die Fragestellung besonders relevant sind.

Ab wann ist also erstmalig seit Jahrmillionen mit einer eisfreien Arktis zu rechnen? „Eisfrei“ wird dabei in der Regel definiert als eine Meereisausdehnung von unter 1 Mio. km2, gemessen im September (Jahresminimum). Die Prognosen der 30 weltweit renommiertesten Klimamodelle reichen hier (unter der Annahme einer wie bisher fortgesetzten globalen Treibhausgasentwicklung) vom Jahr 2040 bis ins Jahr 2100, im arithmetischen Mittel prognostizieren diese Modelle eine erste Eisfreiheit im Jahr 2076 (siehe rote Linien in Abbildung 1).

Abbildung 1. Klimaprognosen der Septembermittelwerte der arktischen Meereisausdehnung von 29 globalen Klimamodellen (grau), mit ihrem arithmetischen Mittel (rot) und dem gewichteten Mittel nach MDER (blau). Die senkrechten Linien zeigen die Zeitpunkte, ab denen die jeweils mittlere Eisausdehnung erstmalig unter 1 Million km² fällt. Grau schattierte Flächen zeigen den Bereich um das jeweilige Mittel von +/- einer Standardabweichung. Adaptiert von Senftleben et al. 2020, Abbildung 7.

Um diese Unsicherheit einzuschränken, lässt sich die MDER-Methode („Multiple Diagnostic Ensemble Regression“, Karpechko et al. 2013) verwenden. Im ersten Schritt werden über einen komplexen iterativen Algorithmus diejenigen Parameter bestimmt, die für die Prognosen der Eisbedeckung besonders relevant sind. Aus einem Pool von 15 verschiedenen Diagnostiken wurden hier die mittlere Meereisbedeckung und die Veränderung der arktischen Lufttemperatur als die relevanten Parameter identifiziert. Im zweiten Schritt gewichtet man die Klimamodelle bei der Mittelwertbildung danach, wie gut ihre Vorhersagen in Bezug auf diese beiden Aspekte in der Vergangenheit lagen. Hierdurch verkleinert sich die Prognosespanne der ersten Eisfreiheit der Arktis bereits um 15 Jahre. Zusätzlich verschiebt sich das gewichtete Mittel um 14 Jahre nach vorne auf das Jahr 2062 (siehe blaue Linien in Abbildung 1).

Die MDER-Methode ist nur eine Möglichkeit, exaktere Aussagen aus den breit gestreuten Simulationsergebnissen des arktischen Klimas abzuleiten – jedoch weisen auch nahezu alle anderen Studien zu diesem Thema auf pessimistischere Zukunftsaussichten der Arktis hin, als das reine arithmetische Mittel suggeriert. Dies liegt zu einem großen Teil daran, dass die tatsächlich gemessenen Rückgänge des arktischen Meereises in den letzten Jahrzehnten deutlich stärker waren, als sie den Klimasimulationen nach sein sollten – was hier effektiv durch MDER korrigiert wird.

Auf unsere nxt statista Projektkontexte bezogen bedeutet dies, dass es nicht ausreicht, aus vorhandenen, abweichenden Datenquellen Durchschnittswerte zu bilden, selbst wenn diese Datenquellen von ähnlicher Qualität zu sein scheinen. Vielmehr ist eine Identifikation der für die Fragestellung relevanten Parameter vorzuschalten, und diejenigen Datenquellen sind dann höher zu gewichten, die diese Parameter besser abbilden. In wirtschaftlichen Kontexten stellen Erfahrungs- und Expertenwissen bei der Auswahl der möglichen Parameter eine unerlässliche Ergänzung dar, um diese Analysen effizient durchführen zu können.

Quellen

https://www.spiegel.de/wissenschaft/natur/eis-schmelze-in-der-arktis-diese-schlacht-ist-verloren-a-4e88ba55-4dd0-4c15-ba5f-0ec3e4832af4 (letzter Zugriff: 27.09.2020)

https://www.n-tv.de/mediathek/videos/wissen/Eisschmelze-schreitet-voran-Folgen-bereits-spuerbar-article22056686.html (letzter Zugriff: 27.09.2020)

https://www.zeit.de/wissen/umwelt/2020-09/erderwaermung-meeresspiegel-anstieg-antarktis-forschung-polkappen-schmelzen (letzter Zugriff: 27.09.2020)

Karpechko, A. Y., D. Maraun, and V. Eyring, 2013: Improving Antarctic Total Ozone Projections by a Process-Oriented Multiple Diagnostic Ensemble Regression. Journal of the Atmospheric Sciences, 70, 3959-3976. https://doi.org/10.1175/jas-d-13-071.1

Senftleben, D., A. Lauer, and A. Karpechko, 2020: Constraining Uncertainties in CMIP5 Projections of September Arctic Sea Ice Extent with Observations. Journal of Climate, 33, 1487–1503, https://doi.org/10.1175/JCLI-D-19-0075.1.

Logo© 2019 - 2020 LSP Digital GmbH & Co. KG
ImpressumDatenschutz